A letter from Robert Lopez

Mr. Taylor, first let me say WELCOME HOME and THANK YOU FOR YOUR SERVICE TO OUR COUNTRY.

Now let me say that I read your book twice and have to say that your story sounds just like my fathers.  My father never talked about what he did in Vietnam and like you always had nightmares and anxiety and it wasn’t until the late 80’s is when he was told about PTSD. When I was old enough to work and started working with my dad, I asked him what he went through in Vietnam. It took him about 30 minutes to answer, and the look on his face told me more then what he was telling. My father passed away in 2010 from complication of Agent orange poisoning, before he passed we were watching some story on Vietnam and they were talking about Cambodia, Lao’s and North Vietnam and how we never had troops there and he said S**T I was there.  Now, I know my dad didn’t have same MOS that you did or work for the same agency, but I do know that he went to fort Polk, fort Benning, fort Bragg then Panama for 4 weeks of Sniper school training.  I guess the part that reminded me of my father is that when he passed away the VA refused to pay for his headstone and said that we had no proof that my father was a combat veteran.  After showing them his DD214 that clearly showed that he had served in Vietnam from 1965 to 1967, and had 3 Purple Hearts and 1 Bronze Star.  Anyhow, I just wanted to let you know from the son of a combat veteran that I appreciate your service and you guys are not forgotten.

Thanks for your time,

Robert Lopez

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

